Governance Structure

Accountability for the effective oversight of the Corporation and its subsidiaries rests with an eleven-member Board of Directors, which provides direction to the Corporation on behalf of the shareholder, the City of Ottawa.

The Board provides leadership for the company within a framework of effective controls that enables risks to be assessed and managed, and is responsible for supervising the management of the business and affairs of the company and its subsidiaries. In carrying out its oversight function, the Board of Directors is guided by a Shareholder Declaration issued by Ottawa City Council and revised from time to time. The company’s Code of Business Conduct, its Director Conflict of Interest and Conduct Guidelines and a Related Party Transaction Disclosure Policy and Process also govern the actions of the Board.

On a day-to-day basis, the Corporation is led by an Executive Management Team, comprising the Corporation’s President and Chief Executive Officer, the Chief Financial Officer and the senior executives of the subsidiaries and critical functional areas. This team oversees the alignment of business practices and strategies with the goals of the Corporation, and drives performance by managing risks and opportunities. The Executive Management Team is accountable to the Corporation’s Board of Directors through the President and Chief Executive Officer.

Executive Managment Team

Bryce Conrad

Bryce Conrad

President and Chief Executive Officer

Bryce Conrad is President and Chief Executive Officer of Hydro Ottawa Holding Inc., a leading energy provider.

Bryce has served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Hydro Ottawa since 2011.  Under his leadership, Hydro Ottawa has become one of the most profitable, innovative and customer-oriented utilities in Canada, regularly winning awards and accolades for customer service and innovation.  In addition, Hydro Ottawa has tripled its renewable generation, making it the largest municipally owned generator of clean, green energy in Ontario.

Prior to joining Hydro Ottawa, Bryce served as Assistant Deputy Minister – Program Operations at Infrastructure Canada, where he managed the implementation of the $4 billion Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, overseeing the selection and management of 4,000 projects that created more than $10 billion in economic activity. He was also responsible for the oversight and administration of the Building Canada Fund, the Green Infrastructure Fund and the Gas Tax agreements with provinces and municipalities.

An active community champion, Bryce sits on the Board of Directors for The Ottawa Hospital Foundation, and has served on the Board of Directors for United Way/Centraide Ottawa since 2014.

Bryce has extensive governance experience, serving on the Board of Directors for industry associations including the Canadian Electricity Association, Ontario Energy Association, Institute on Governance, Electricity Distributors Association and The MEARIE Group.

Bryce is fluently bilingual, and holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Queen’s University, a Master of Public Administration from Carleton University, and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Ottawa.


Roger Marsh

Roger Marsh

Chief Energy Services Officer

With more than 35 years of private and public sector experience in the electrical industry, Roger Marsh is a proficient and people-focused leader.

He has held senior positions related to power systems, customer service, metering, project management and energy management.

As Chief Energy Services Officer, Roger oversees the delivery of a full range of expert energy related services to the commercial sector. He also serves on the Board of the Ottawa Centre Eco-District and as a member of the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce Environmental Committee.

Roger is a Certified Power System Technologist (C.E.T.), is fluently bilingual and holds a General Management diploma from the Sprott School of Business.